Solitary Confidant


Dark times where I felt alone,

Loneliness I would befriend,

Thought I needed to find someone 

‘Til I found myself again,

Wasn’t happy on my lonesome,

Had to make myself my friend,

Only since I’ve grown to known me

The growth in me knows no ends


Days at home, nobody phoned me,

Comfort zone once felt so homely,

Fear of unknown, it’s below me,

Goals protected like a goalie,

The unholy, lowly, old me

Told me no need to be pro-me,

Slowly seen it’s solely on me

To hold the keys for my own peace


Days have ended of pretending,

Descending to depths to blend in,

Comprehend that in the end

I defend energy I’m spending,

Prevent overly extending,

Amending rules I am bending,

Ending up in the impending 

Transcendence I am intending


Good times that were once unknown,

Time alone is a godsend,

Found out those who I have outgrown

Since I found myself again,

Love to myself, guess I’ve shown some

Broken bonds are on the mend,

Content since I’ve grown to know me,

Time alone I recommend.

The End.



Β© 2024| BINNZYtheWRITER |All Rights Reserved


Yoooo…

Decided to finally believe in myself. And half way through writing this, I read a bit back and said aloud, “Man, I’m fucking dope”. (For bonus points, can you guess which line?)

Arrogant? Maybe, but it beats doubting what I’ve worked so hard on. Gotta recognise that these creations don’t just happen and require me to push myself to my limits.

Imposter syndrome is vanishing. The work’s working.

I wrote this in a very different way to how I usually do. I decided that I was gonna just write until I wasn’t enjoying it anymore, then returned later when I was. Instead of procrastinating, I was subconsciously working on it when I stepped away. This is a revelation. I don’t think I will ever battle through another piece until I’m satisfied with it again. This way is so much more fucking enjoyable.

Hope you enjoy anyway. Let me know what you think.

If you like what you read, feel free to check these out:

Unaligned Valentine

Catharsis

Breakthrough

Also, not something I usually do, but a criminally underrated creative I rate is Cypher Sessions

My go to for film and music reviews. Great poet as well.


12 thoughts on “Solitary Confidant

Add yours

  1. This is SO wonderful! I can relate to this a lot in the way that I am learning how to become my own friend again and to listen to that voice that tells me what I want/need or don’t want/need, which helps self-esteem rebuild, which helps everything, in life in gen. The writing, the rhythm and flow is fantastic. Love it!!

      1. Wonderfully said, and encouraging. Yes we have to keep connecting with that real part of ourselves and thus with the universe at large. Thank you :)) <33

  2. The “had to make myself my friend” to the “fear of unknown” section definitely resonated with me the most. That bit about nobody phoning also resonates so hard sometimes haha. Definitely enjoyed the piece man, keep writing till the hand cramps and keep going! Also, many thanks for the shout out man, it is truly appreciated.

    1. Appreciate you brother and happy to hear that bro. Hahah. Yeah even when people do phone me it disrupts my soul hahah. Very few I want a call from nowadays lol

      Will keep going bro. And anytime man. You work too hard for me not to shout you out brother. πŸ‘ŠπŸΎπŸ–€

  3. A real and in places relatable piece. Thanks for sharing and also for recommending another blogger for us to check out too. Bless. πŸ™πŸ™ŒπŸ˜ŠπŸ’ŸπŸ’―πŸ‘Š

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑